The Placebo Effect

writer811

With the placebo effect becoming more and more common in our time, do you think that for smaller things like colds and headaches it is more important to believe that whatever you're using is working than to take it and still be doubtful of it's effects? I've had some experience with the placebo effect before, feeling much better and having pain go away very quickly after taking "medicine" that basically has no medical properties.

beckyv1265

I don't take many drugs or natural remidies. I only know if I have pain I take a medicine for it. If it goes away it worked and the pain is gone. If it doesn't I try another until I receive the benefit desired. I also try to figure out what is causing the issue in the first place and correct the underlying problem.

gina121

Interesting post!
Well, it really depends what we are using the placebo on. Like they say, the common cold lasts a week if left untreated and lasts seven days if treated. So, it is best left untreated. If placebo works, then the treatment is all psychological. However, if it is the flu virus, it is best treated with antibiotics or flu medication. I am not sure if placebo will work here... not tried it myself nor read any research on it.

Also, when we try placebo on ourselves and we know beforehand that the medication we are consuming does not have any 'curative properties', it fails to fulfill the criteria of a placebo, since it is not a 'blinded' exercise!

rosie

The placebo effect is very effective. That's worrying to me because I'd hate to think I'm taking placebos and being told I'm on medication. (Shows you how much I trust my doctors, huh?)

xenon

Children are classic for the placebo effect. You've heard of Kiss it Better and the use band aids to make problems go away.
If it works why not.
I loved this quote
Interesting post!
Like they say, the common cold lasts a week if left untreated and lasts seven days if treated. So, it is best left untreated.
But I'm unsure of