Do You Use A MultiVitamin Or Singles?

I have recently read an article where the body can only absorb so much from a multivitamin before it is removed as waste. This got me to thinking about how much of the vitamin content is actually removed before it is used. Since I read this I started to take the vitamins as singles and have started to notice a marked difference in my energy levels, but also in how I feel. How do you take your vitamins?

I should be ashamed of myself, because I actually don't take a multivitamin every day like the doctor suggests. However, I worked as a pharmacy tech for a while and studied vitamin supplements extensively while in school and that article is correct - your body can only absorb so much of a given vitamin/mineral before the rest is wasted. In school, I actually learned that it's better not to take super doses, because of the aforementioned fact, and it's also better not to take the entire day's supply at one time. Instead, spread it out and take half with breakfast and half with dinner, for example. Your body will absorb more that way.

rayne

I am on a regimen that requires them twice a day. I take them in the morning and again at noon. If I miss my noon vitamins, I sure can tell the difference around 3 in the afternoon. I get so tired that I can barely go.

Irma

I take a multi-vitamin. It has all the right amounts of all the right nutrients. I figure that whatever my body doesn't need will be expelled, and whatever it needs will get used.

konstantina

I don't think you should take a multivitamin or other vitamin if you eat your vitamins. Box-vitamins as I call them, are necessary if you are recovering from illness, don't eat right, or are in stress. So, I don't think a multivitamin every day is not really necessary. If you feel like you need them, you can try taking one every other day.

deb