Niece caught smoking

Novembre

I just heard that my teenage niece was caught smoking. She is only 13! I don't know where she got the cigarettes from. I think she was just curious or wanted to look cool around her friends.

It is amazing how easy it is for a teenager to purchase cigarettes. I used to work in a store and two young girls that I knew weren't old enough tried to sweet talk me into a pack saying that they left their ID's at home, like I was going to fall for that.

Greyhair

That is really sad. Why would a thirteen year old girl need to smoke? What was she trying to prove? I don't smoke but I have ever tried it. I didn't enjoy it at all.

wonderfuls

I know many people who started younger than that and regret it now. Many times parents are not even aware of the stores that will sell to someone underage, good for you in not buying into their sweet talk!

naturelady

Oh, no! She has no idea what she is getting into if she keeps that up. The younger a person starts smoking, the harder it is to break the addiction.

I'm glad someone caught your niece. Hopefully her parents will put a stop to it.

SoftRain

She was probably trying to act cool. I know a shocking amount of people who snuck cigarettes around that age. I hope she doesn't keep it up.

strawberry

Hopefully she was just trying it out and will not continue with this nasty habit. I can't imagine anyone this age being able to afford to buy cigarettes on a regular basis.

wanderingherb

Sometimes kids experiment it is a part of learning independence.
LOL. I remember my mother just absolutely FEARED I would smoke. She accused me a couple of times and went to the point of saying let me smell your breath. LOL. I honestly was not smoking. But I tell you what that made me; it made me far more curious about it rather than if she hadn't been so freaked out. :)

Novembre