Myth - you need a strong immune system to beat a cold

Esperahol

The idea is that you need a stronger immune system to beat a cold, but in fact like allergies colds are simply the immune system spazzing out. In fact at least a fourth of the population has no colds at all there entire life and that is with the over 200 viruses out there labeled under the title cold. So the question then becomes - should a person be gobbling down immunoboosters?

shaunche

I consider myself to be healthier than most people and I haven't had a cold for over a decade now. The people I work with who are always suffering from a 'cold' are generally unhealthy and have a weak immune system. Bacteria and bugs etc will be easily defeated by a strong immune system.

Waynefire

I have to say this is bunk. I worked in the medical field for a while and the people were always sick with a weak immune sustem. So I know the stronger immune system works really well.

Esperahol

I have to say this is bunk. I worked in the medical field for a while and the people were always sick with a weak immune sustem. So I know the stronger immune system works really well.
You were a doctor? One who saw every patient? I mean you are saying this like you know everything a person might have as well as the general state of their immune system. How do you know they didn't have a robust system - one so robust it was overreacting to every little virus?

Waynefire

I was an Emergency Room Technician for 3 years and a paramedic for 6 years. I was exposed to quite a bit and in my own experience and familiarity with the patients who I took care of on a regular basis it was the state of their immune system.

Esperahol

I was an Emergency Room Technician for 3 years and a paramedic for 6 years. I was exposed to quite a bit and in my own experience and familiarity with the patients who I took care of on a regular basis it was the state of their immune system.