How to make new candles from old

beyreNC

I've searched around the internet, but couldn't really find simple step-by-step instructions.

I have large candles that I've bought and have used (mostly during power outages). Now the wax is so far down (created a hole) that I think there is an oxygen issue and the wick doesn't burn long or they are hard to get at to light. I hate to throw out the candles because there is still a fair bit of wax left.

I have a bunch of votive (and similar) sized candle holders and I have wicks.

What is the best (and easiest) process to melt the wax from the large candles and pour them into the smaller votives to make new usable candles? At what point do I put in the wicks? (some have the little metal stands and some I don't)

I'll need to know exactly what kind of pots/pans and other supplies to use. I am a complete novice when it comes to the anatomy and dynamics of candle making, so please really do dumb it down for me into easy to digest bite steps.

thatgirl

There are so many ways to do this that it is really up to you and how detailed you want to get. One method is to place a coffee can with your old candle bits inside a crockpot. Don't fill the can more than half full of candle bits because melted wax is hot!

Fill the crockpot with water until it's 1/3 - 1/2 the way up the coffee can and turn the heat to low. Within an hour or so you should have melted wax. Use a pot holder to remove the coffee can and pour the melted wax into your votive holders. Wax will shrink and settle as it cools, leaving a depression around your wick, so when I made candles I often went back later and topped up with more melted wax.

One way to use the wicks that don't have a metal base is to dip them in your wax a few times before you pour the candles. That will make the wicks stronger when you drop them in. Let the candles cool a few minutes before dropping in your wicks or else the coating won't help.