Best ingredient...

What is the best ingredient that will make your soft and hydrated? I am new to soap making and I want something good for my skin. I am really lacking in taking care of it.

shaunche

Coconut is one of the best ingredients to use to make soap. Coconut is a natural moisturizer, the fat in the coconut nourishes and protects the skin. Coconut oil is rich in antioxidants which will combat free-radicals and slow down aging, keeping your skin smooth and firm.

TabithaW

Here is a good article on 6 tips to hydrate skin. http://womenhealthpage.com/beauty-style/hydrate-skin-6-tips-hydrating-skin.html

Soap doesn't really add moisture, because it is a wash off product. Handmade soap feels like it's adding moisture mainly because it is not removing moisture, striping, and drying the skin like commercial soap (eh-hem detergents) are doing. With that being said, I am a sucker for hand made soap with butter in it, shea or any other. It feels silky smooth passing over the skin.

Jessi

I'm a sucker for shea or cocoa butter, too, as well as the coconut oil mentioned above. I use coconut oil for chapstick and whatnot, too, which always makes my lips feel so much softer, so I tend to feel the same way about using it for my skin.

Kellyk

Hi, I would love to start making soap. My only problem with it is lye. I heard that all soaps have this ingredient. Is there a way to make homemade soap without lye? Or, are there any inexpensive ingredients I could try for my first batch of soap. Thanks.

I like using the Shea butter. Then I do not have to be worried about my skin drying out and it is one of the lotions I am not allergic to for a change!

Jessi

Hi, I would love to start making soap. My only problem with it is lye. I heard that all soaps have this ingredient. Is there a way to make homemade soap without lye? Or, are there any inexpensive ingredients I could try for my first batch of soap. Thanks.